Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

Utah Golf Association Announces 2017 Players of the Year and Annual Award Winners

By Megan Huntsman, Programs Administrator


The Utah Golf Association is pleased to announce the following award winners to be honored at the UGA Annual Award Dinner on Thursday, January 18, 2018 at Willow Creek Country Club:

UGA Gold Club Award – Linda Olsen

The UGA Gold Club Award is presented annually to an individual who, through significant achievement or unselfish service, has contributed to the history and tradition of the game of golf in Utah, and whose personal integrity, sportsmanship, common courtesy, loyalty and friendship earn them the love and respect of their fellow golfers. The UGA is honored to present the 2017 UGA Gold Club Award to Linda Olsen.

UWGA Lady Award – Patty Brimley

As an annual tribute to the Utah Women's Golf Association, the Utah Golf Association honors one woman who has given back to the local golf community. The 2017 UWGA Lady Award recipient is Patty Brimley.

Volunteer of the Year – Mike Steele

The UGA could not function without the dedicated help of our volunteers. These extraordinary people give their time and energy back to the game we all love in many different capacities. Each year, the UGA recognizes one volunteer who has demonstrated outstanding commitment and contribution to the UGA with our Volunteer of the Year award. This year, that outstanding volunteer is Mike Steele.

Players of the Year

The Utah Golf Association recognizes the top Women's Senior Amateur, Women's Amateur, Senior Men's Amateur and Men's Amateur players each season. The following competitors have been named the 2017 UGA Players of the Year:

Women’s Senior Amateur – Sue Nyhus

Women’s Amateur – Kelsey Chugg

Senior Men’s Amateur – Brett Sampson

Men’s Amateur – Patrick Fishburn

Individual stories will be posted to each day beginning tomorrow, January 3, 2018. The links to these stories will be available here and on all UGA social media platforms.