Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

Jay Don Blake, Dan Forsman, Todd Barker to be inducted into Utah Golf Hall of Fame

Touring professionals Jay Don Blake and Dan Forsman along with Utah State Amateur champion Todd Barker will be inducted into the Utah Golf Hall of Fame in a ceremony planned for May 11th at Hidden Valley Country Club.

Jay Don Blake is the first Utah native to play regularly on the PGA Tour, and is currently playing on the PGA Champions Tour. The St. George native played college golf at Utah State University and is perhaps Utah’s greatest collegiate player. He won the NCAA medalist honors in 1980 and was runnerup the following year and was named NCAA Player of the Year. On the PGA Tour he won the Shearson Lehman Brothers Open in 1991. He has career earnings of more than $6.5 million.

Dan Forsman has won five times on the PGA Tour, twice on the PGA Champions Tour, and has career earnings of nearly $9 million. He has lived in Utah since his collegiate days at Arizona State and is a member of Riverside Country Club.  He has been very supportive of Utah golf activities.
Todd Barker, part owner and superintendent of Fore Lakes Golf Course, was one of Utah’s top amateurs during the 80s and 90s, He was named UGA Player of the Year five times, in 1986, 1990, 1992, 1993, and 1997. No other player has been named UGA Player of the Year more than twice. He won the Utah State Amateur championship in 1997, and has won the Golf Course Superintendents National championship twice.
The induction ceremony will be held on May 11th at Hidden Valley Country Club, and plaques honoring their achievements will be placed on display at Thanksgiving Point, home of the Utah Golf Hall of Fame. The public will be invited to the induction ceremony and those interested in attending should set aside the date now. Details of the ceremony will be announced later.
The Utah Golf Hall of Fame is jointly sponsored by the Utah Golf Association and the Utah Section of the PGA and selections are made by a joint committee of the two organizations along with several selected members of the media. The Utah Golf Association is responsible for housing the Hall of Fame and conducting the induction ceremonies. This will mark the seventh induction ceremony and bring the total number of honorees to 33. The most recent induction ceremony was held in 2007 with Mike Reid, Bob Betley, and Marcia Thayne being inducted.