Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

Jay Don Blake Only Utahn to Win NCAA Golf Title

From time to time the UGA web page will publish some stories of historical interest with a Utah slant to them.

This story is a brief review of the NCAA Golf Championships and it is of interest to Utahns because Jay Don Blake of St. George won the title in 1980 representing Utah State as an individual. He is the only Utahn to ever win the championship.

BYU won the team championship, but a BYU player has never won the individual title.  Blake was runnerup in 1981.  Tiger Woods won the title only once, in 1996 representing Stanford.

Phil Mickelson of Arizona State won it three of his four years, missing the title in his junior season.  Ben Crenshaw of Texas also won it three times, although one of those years he shared it with teammate Tom Kite.  Teams that have had the most individuals win medalist honors have been:

8- Houston, Oklahoma State

6- Arizona State

5- Ohio State

4- Texas, Southern Cal