Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

First 2010 Tourney Begins Saturday at Coral Canyon

A strong field of amateurs, absent the pros, will tee it up Saturday and Sunday at the Coral Canyon Amateur.

In the past the tournament was titled the Coral Canyon Open because it included both professionals and amateurs, but this year it will be amateurs only. There will also be a senior division.  This year’s tournament will begin with a shotgun start Saturday morning.   

The tournament began in 2003 with three amateurs sharing the first place amateur prize, Ryan Job, Rick Lloyd, and Garrett Clegg.  In 2004 Pete Stone won both the amateur and overall championship with a record amateur score of 137 on rounds of 69-68. He turned pro in 2006. 

Other amateur winners have been Afa Vasi in 1005,  John Owen and Nick Micek in 2006, Daniel Summerhays  in 2007, John Busby and Robbie Fillmore in 2008, and  last year Brady Johnson, of the BYU team, equaled the  137 record with rounds of 68-69. 

In the seven year history there have been 11 amateurs share the title and none of them have won more than once.  Previous professional winners have been Steve Schneiter, Kim Thompson, Nick McKinlay back-to-back, Jake Ellison, and Clay Ogden. The record low score was posted by Jake Ellison in 2008 with rounds of 68- 64-132. 

Past amateur winners of the Coral Canyon Open:


139- Ryan Job, 68-71; Rick Lloyd, 69-70; Garrett Clegg, 69-70


137- Pete Stone, 69-68 (Low Am and Low Overall)


144- Afa Vasi, 75-69


143- John Owen, 73-70; Nick Micek, 70-73


140- Daniel Summerhays, 72-68


140- John Busby, 70-70; Robbie Fillmore, 69-71


137- Brady Johnson, 68-69

Past professional winners have been:

2003- Steve Schneiter, 64-69-133

2004- Amateur Pete Stone won at 137. Low pros were Ryan Rhees and Henry White at 143.

2005- Kim Thompson, 73-70

2006- Nick McKinlay, 68-72

2007- Nick McKinlay, 2008- Jake Ellison, 68-64-132

2009- Clay Ogden, 69-65-134