Pacific Coast Amateur

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Donec eget aliquam dui. Cras sit amet dui posuere, ornare arcu quis, efficitur erat. Morbi posuere ac elit sed pretium. Fusce ut enim eget metus tristique fringilla. Mauris non pharetra orci. Sed vehicula augue sed semper gravida. Etiam auctor laoreet orci, venenatis commodo felis egestas eu.

2019 Site: TBD

Date: TBD

Official Championship Website

What is the Pacific Coast Amateur?

The Pacific Coast Amateur Championship was first held on the links of San Francisco Golf Club at The Presidio, April 24-27, 1901. Championships were held annually through 1911, all being conducted in California except for the 1909 championship, which was held at Seattle Golf Club in Washington.

The Pacific Coast Amateur then ceased to exist, only to be reconstituted at Seattle Golf Club on August 10-12, 1967. The modern era of the PCGA occurred following a meeting of representatives of several golf associations throughout the western United States at Pebble Beach in November, 1965.

The objective of this meeting was to start a golf championship with the stature that would attract the attention of the USGA and display the ability of amateur golfers in the western United States for possible Walker Cup Team selection.

The Pacific Northwest, Northern California, Southern California, Oregon and Arizona golf associations participated in the inaugural PCA Championship at Seattle Golf Club in 1967. Today, 18 member Pacific Rim golf associations comprise the Pacific Coast Golf Association.

The Morse Cup Team competition has been a major portion of the PCA Championship since 1967. Each team consists of three players. From 1967 to 1996, the best two scores each day for the first two rounds were totaled for each team to determine the Morse Cup champion. In the event of a tie, co-champions were recognized. However, the team play ended after 36 holes. The individual competition of this event extends onto 72 holes versus the 36 hole Morse Cup Team competition.

UGA Selection Process

The UGA will select three players to represent Utah at the Pacific Coast Amateur (PCA). The team will be comprised of our top two players on the Player Performance Ranking (PPR) after the conclusion of the Utah State Amateur Championship. Each team member must agree to participate in all functions relating to the PCA. Participants who qualify as minors will be asked to complete and return waiver information to the UGA.

*The PCA extends presidential invitations to top amateur players from member and non-member golf associations. If a player is accepts to play as a presidential invite for this event he will not be part of the Utah team and will compete as an individual.

Players to represent the Utah team for the Pacific Coast Amateur team will be chosen in the following order:

  • 1- 2018 Utah State Amateur Champion
  • 2- First eligible on PPR Rankings after the Utah State Amateur
  • 3- Second eligible on PPR Rankings after the Utah State Amateur
  • (PPR events that take place during the Utah State Amateur will not be counted towards the points for the PCA)