Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

SUU Women’s Golf Ties For Sixth In Arizona

By: Bryson Lester, Assistant Director of Strategic Communications SUU

MARICOPA, Ariz. – The Thunderbird women’s golf team finished in a tie for sixth place at the Wyoming Cowgirl Classic, as play concluded on Friday. SUU will now turn its attention to the Bobcat Desert Invitational.

Cowgirl Classic Recap

As a team the T-Birds shot a 297 on Friday, bringing their three-round total to 899 (307, 295, 297). They finished in a tie with UTEP.  

Senior Taylor Viquelia finished with the lowest score for the Thunderbirds, after putting in an even-par performance on Friday. She shot 72 to bring her total to 222 (74, 76, 72) and finished in a tie for 13th on the leaderboard.

Junior Miranda Reyes finished in a tie for 24th at the event, shooting a combined 225 (75, 73, 77) at the event.

Freshman Poy Prasurtwong had the best round for the T-Birds on Friday, shooting a one-under 71 to bring her final total to 226 (79, 76, 71), putting her right behind Reyes. The freshman finished in a tie for 29th on the final leaderboard.

Kyla Smith and Nicole Jones finished fourth and fifth for Southern Utah, shooting 229 (80, 71, 78) and 231 (79, 75, 77) respectively.  

UC Irvine was able to claim victory as a team, shooting a 874 (296, 290, 288).

Sacramento State’s Julia Becker and Nevada’s Kaitlin Collom finished in a tie at the top of the leaderboard, but Collom won the tiebreaker to claim individual honors.  

Bobcat Desert Invitational Preview

The T-Birds will now get ready for their final competition before the Big Sky Conference Tournament, as they will compete in the Bobcat Desert Invitational.

The event will be played at the Golf Club of Estrella in Goodyear, Arizona. The first two rounds will be played on Monday, April 10th, with the third and final round being played the following day. There will be a shotgun start at 7:45 a.m. on both days.

The Thunderbirds will be competing against several Big Sky Conference opponents, including Eastern Washington, Idaho State, Montana State, North Dakota, Northern Colorado, Portland State, and Weber State.