
Rule 21, 22, 23 and 24 

Questions 

1. In a Local Rule for a team event, the Committee has authorized each team to appoint the team captain as an 

advice giver who may give advice to members of that team.  During a round, a player on the team is in a group 

playing with the team captain.  Before playing a tee shot on a par-3 hole, a player asks the team captain what 

club others have been using from the teeing area.  The team captain responds, identifying the club other have 

been using.  What is the ruling?  

A. There is no penalty.   

B. The team captain gets the general penalty but there is no penalty to the player who asked for advice.  

C. Both the player who asked for advice and the team captain get the general penalty.  

 

2. In Foursomes stroke play with side A-B, A, whose turn it is to play, plays a ball from outside the teeing area. B 

makes the next stroke from within the teeing area.  What is the penalty and which player makes the next 

stroke?  

A.  There is no penalty if A puts a ball into play from within the teeing area.  

B.  The side gets the general penalty and A must play from within the teeing area.  

C.  There is a total penalty of four strokes and A must play from within the teeing area.  

 

3. Which of the following is false in Four-Ball play?  

A.  In both match and stroke play, a side’s round starts when one of the partners makes a stroke to start 

his or her first hole.  

B.  In match play, a side’s round ends when either side has won the match.  

C.  In match play or stroke play, a partner absent at the start may join in playing for the side at any time.  

 

4. In Foursomes stroke play with side A-B, A, whose turn it is to play, plays a ball from outside the teeing area. B 

makes the next stroke from within the teeing area.  What is the penalty and which player makes the next 

stroke?  

A.  There is no penalty if A puts a ball into play from within the teeing area.  

B.  The side gets the general penalty and A must play from within the teeing area.  

C.  There is a total penalty of four strokes and A must play from within the teeing area.  

 

5. In Four-Ball match play with side A-B, A holes out.  Before B holes out, A practises putting on the fringe of the 

putting green without helping B’s play or hurting the opponent’s play.  What is the ruling?  

A.  There is no penalty. 

B.  A gets the general penalty. 

C.  A and B each get the general penalty. 

 



6. Side A-B is playing in a mixed Foursomes stroke-play competition, where different teeing areas are used by men 

(blue) and women (red).  On a par-3 hole, the man plays first from the blue teeing area and hits his ball out of 

bounds.  The woman plays next and hits her ball, played from the blue teeing area, onto the putting green.  The 

man then putts the side’s ball close to the hole and the woman sinks the next putt.  What is the ruling?  

A. The woman played incorrectly from the blue teeing area and must correct her mistake by playing 

from the red teeing area.  She will be playing the sides’ third stroke.  

B. The woman played incorrectly from the blue teeing area, getting the general penalty, and must 

correct her mistake by playing from the red teeing area.  She will be playing the sides’ fifth stroke.  

C. The side has played correctly in order, gets the one-stroke penalty for the ball out of bounds and 

scores five on the hole.  

 

7. In Four-Ball match play, a player’s ball is farthest from the hole, while his or her partner’s ball is closest to the 

hole.  The partner decides to putt first, but he or she will be standing on the line of play of one of the 

opponents.  The opponents object to this procedure, because they say it will adversely affect their play.  What 

is the ruling?  

A.  If the player whose ball is farthest from the hole does not putt first, the side will lose the hole for not 

playing in turn.  

B.  If the partner whose ball is closest to the hole putts first and in doing so stands on the line of play of 

one of the opponents, he or she will be disqualified from the hole.  

C.  In this situation, the side may play in any order they choose, without penalty.  

 

8. In Four-Ball match play, a player is disqualified for the hole for playing a wrong ball.  The player continues to 

play the hole along with his or her partner.  What is the ruling?  

A.  There is no penalty.  

B.  The side gets the general penalty if any of the player's strokes assisted the partner in his or her play 

of the hole.  

C.  The side gets the general penalty as a consequence of the player's actions.  

 

9. In a Four-Ball match, side A-B is playing side C-D, with the two players on each side sharing a caddie.  The caddie 

shared by A and B accidentally moves the ball of C that lay at rest in the fairway.  What is the ruling?  

A. There is no penalty.  

B. Both A and B get a penalty of one stroke.  

C. Either A or B gets a penalty of one stroke; which individual must be decided by lot.  

  

 

 

 

 



10. In Four-Ball stroke play with side A-B, A picks up while B completes the hole.  The marker attributes the score 

for the hole to A and records no score for B.  The better ball score is correct.  The hole scores on the scorecard 

are certified and the scorecard is returned to the Committee.  What is the ruling?  

A.  The Committee should accept without penalty the scorecard as returned, since the better ball score 

of the side was correct.  

B.  The Committee should correct the error by entering the correct score for B into the proper box on 

the scorecard and waive the disqualification penalty.  

C.  The Committee must disqualify the side, since there was no score recorded for B whose score was to 

count.  

 

 

 


