
Rule 19 

Questions 

1. After deciding that his or her ball is unplayable, a player lifts it.  Then the player finds that it was in ground under 

repair.  Before dropping a ball, the player asks for a ruling.  What is the ruling?  

A. The decision of the player commits him or her to take relief under the unplayable ball Rule.  

B. The lifting commits him or her to take relief under the unplayable ball Rule.  

C. The declaration and the lifting do not commit him or her to take relief under the unplayable ball Rule.  

The player may take relief under the ground under repair Rule.  

 

2. Which is true regarding a player who decides to take unplayable ball relief?  

A.  The player may use the extra relief option if his or her ball is in a penalty area.  

B.  The player may drop a ball in a penalty area, if the original ball lies in the general area.  

C.  The player may decide to take unplayable ball relief anywhere on the course.  

 

3. Which is correct regarding a player taking unplayable ball relief?  

A. A player may not drop a ball nearer the hole than where the original ball lies.  

B. A player may drop a ball outside a bunker, if his or her ball lies on grass in the bunker.  

C. If the player's ball lies in the general area, he or she has a choice of three options but the ball must be 

dropped in the general area. 

 

4. A player’s ball lies in a bunker after a stroke from the general area and the player takes unplayable ball relief in 

the bunker for a penalty of one stroke (Rule 19.3a).  The player then decides that the dropped ball at the new 

spot cannot be played as it lies and again wishes to take unplayable ball relief (Rule 19.3).  Which of the 

following is false?   

A. The player may proceed either by using stroke-and-distance relief and playing again from where the 

previous stroke was made or by using the ball’s new spot as the reference point for taking back-on-the-

line relief or lateral relief.  

B. The player may proceed by dropping a ball behind the bunker using the extra relief option (Rule 

19.3b).  He or she gets two more penalty strokes in addition to the one-stroke penalty for taking 

unplayable ball relief the first time, for a total of three penalty strokes.  

C. The player’s only options are lateral relief or back-on-the-line relief as the stroke-and-distance option 

is no longer available.  Under both relief options, the ball must be dropped in the bunker. 

 

 

 

 

 

 



5. Which is true regarding a player taking unplayable ball relief?  

A.  A player may not drop a ball nearer the hole than where the original ball lies.  

B.  A player may drop a ball outside a bunker, if the original ball lies within the bunker.  

C.  If the player’s ball lies in the general area, he or she has a choice of three options but a ball must be 

dropped in the general area.  

 

 


