
Rule 13 

Questions and Answers 

1. In match play, A mistakenly lifts his or her ball from the putting green without marking it. The opponent, B, lifts 

his or her ball without marking it and says he or she has won the hole, because he or she thinks that A gets the 

general penalty. What is the ruling?  

A. B is correct and A gets the general penalty.  

B. B is not correct that A gets the general penalty and both A and B get a one-stroke penalty for lifting 

without marking and must replace their balls.  

C. There is no penalty to either player and the hole is tied. 

B.  13.1b and 14.1a 

2. A player’s ball comes to rest overhanging the hole.  The player removes the flagstick and the ball moves.  What 

is the ruling?  

A. If the removal of the flagstick caused the ball to move, the ball is replaced overhanging the hole and 

the waiting time applies (Rule 13.3a).  There is no penalty to the player if the removal caused the ball to 

move.  

B. If the removal of the flagstick did not cause the ball to move, and the ball fell into the hole after the 

waiting time (Rule 13.3a), there is a penalty of one stroke and the ball is holed.  

C. If the removal of the flagstick did not cause the ball to move, rather the ball was moved due to 

natural forces to a new spot not overhanging the hole, the ball must be replaced overhanging the hole 

and the waiting time applies (Rule 13.3a).  There is no penalty to the player.  

B.  13.3b/1 

3. With his or her ball on the fringe of the putting green, a player wishes to leave the flagstick in the hole for his or 

her next shot.  Another player tells the player that the flagstick is not centered in the hole but resting at an angle 

tilting towards the player.  Which is correct?  

A. The player is allowed to gain an advantage by deliberately moving the flagstick to a position other 

than centered in the hole.  

B. If the player deliberately moves the flagstick to a position other than centered in the hole, he or she 

gets the general penalty.  

C. The flagstick may be left as it is or centered in the hole  

C.  13.2a(1) 

4. Before a stroke at a player’s ball that lies just off the putting green, he or she repairs several ball-marks on the 

putting green but in doing so leaves a shoe print on the putting green caused by his or her shoe.  The shoe print 

contains spike-marks that damage the player’s line of play on the putting green.  What is the ruling?   

A. The player may repair the ball-marks but not the shoe print without penalty.  

B. The player may repair the shoe print but not the ball-marks without penalty.  

C. The player may repair the ball-marks and shoe print without penalty.  

C.  13.1c(2)/1 

 

 



5. A player’s ball comes to rest at spot A in temporary water on the putting green. The player decides to take relief 

and places a ball on the nearest point of complete relief (spot B), which happens to be on the putting green.  

While the player is preparing to make the next stroke, the wind blows the ball to spot C several feet away.  What 

is the ruling?   

A. The ball must be played from spot C as wind is a natural force.  

B. If the original ball had been lifted and replaced at spot B before the wind moved the ball, the player 

must replace the ball on spot B.  Otherwise, the ball must be played from spot C.  

C. The player must replace the ball on spot B.  

C.  13.1d(2)/1 

6. Without the player's authority, another player removes the flagstick from the hole and the player's ball that was 

resting against the flagstick with part of the ball below the surface of the putting green moves away from the 

hole.  What is the ruling?  

A. There is no penalty to anyone; the ball must be played as it lies away from the hole.  

B. The ball was holed as it lay against the flagstick, the player scores with his or her last stroke and there 

is no penalty to anyone.  

C. The other player gets the general penalty and the ball must be replaced against the flagstick; the 

player may then move or remove the flagstick.  

B.  13.2c 

7. In stroke play, a player lifts a ball on the putting green for identification without marking the ball, confirms that 

it is his or hers, places another ball by mistake on the original spot, and plays it. What is the ruling?  

A. There is a one-stroke penalty for lifting the ball in play without marking it and an additional penalty of 

two strokes for playing an incorrectly substituted ball. B. 

B.  There is a one-stroke penalty for lifting the ball in play without marking it and an additional penalty of 

two strokes for playing a wrong ball  

C. C. The player gets only two penalty strokes in total (and the one-stroke penalty for lifting the ball in play 

without marking it does not apply). 

C.  13.1b. 14.2 and 13.1 Penalty Statement 

8. Before making his or her first putt, a player notices that the hole is damaged by natural wear of the hole.  What 

is the ruling?   

A. If the player believes that his or her play will be affected, he or she may repair any damage to the 

hole without penalty.   

B. Damage to the putting green other than ball-marks may only be repaired by a Committee member.  

The player should stop play and request assistance from a Committee member.  

C. The player must continue play without repairing the hole.   

C.  13.1c(2) 

 

 

 

 



9. In stroke play, a player holes a putt with a club in one hand, while holding the removed flagstick with his or her 

other hand.  What is the ruling?  

A.  There is no penalty.  

B.  There is a one-stroke penalty.  

C.  The player gets the general penalty.  

A.  13.2b(1)/2 

10. In stroke play, after a player marks, lifts and replaces his or her ball on the original spot on the putting green, the 

wind blows it into a bunker.  The player replaces the ball, holes out and tees off on the next hole.  What is the 

ruling?  

A.  There is no penalty.  

B.  The player gets the general penalty.  

C.  He or she is disqualified.  

A.  13.1d(2) 

 


