
Rule 14.5 to 14.7 

Questions and Answers 

1. In stroke play, on the 13th hole, a player makes his first stroke from within the teeing area and the ball comes to 

rest in a penalty area. After surveying the situation the player decides to proceed under Rule 17.1d(1). He 

returns to the tee and by mistake the player tees a ball in front of the tee-markers (outside the teeing area), 

plays from there and that ball comes to rest in the middle of the fairway. The player takes three more strokes to 

hole out. What is the player's score for the 13th hole?  

A. 6  

B. 8  

C. If the mistake is not corrected before he makes a stroke on the next tee, the player is disqualified. 

B.  14.6 and 14.7 

2. In stroke play, a player by mistake replaces his or her ball on the putting green ahead of a nearby ball-marker 

(23-feet from the hole) that was not his or hers.  The player putts the ball and then discovers the mistake.  The 

player lifts the ball (3-feet from the hole), replaces it ahead of his or her ball-marker (22-feet from the hole) and 

plays from there.  What is the ruling?  

A. There is no penalty.  

B. There is a penalty of two strokes.  

C. There is a total penalty of four strokes.  

C.  14.7b(1) 

3. A player’s ball lies in a bunker in an unplayable situation. The player takes relief by dropping a ball under the 

lateral relief option of the unplayable ball Rule (19.3a) in the bunker but mistakenly drops it in the bunker closer 

to the hole than where the original ball lay.  To correct the player’s mistake, he or she lifts the ball and takes 

relief under the back-on-the-line option, dropping the ball in the bunker.  What is the ruling?  

A.  The player is allowed to correct his or her mistake of dropping the ball nearer the hole.  However, the 

player must also correct his or her mistake of changing options by continuing with the unplayable ball 

option initially selected.  

B.  By taking relief under the back-on-the-line option when correcting the player’s mistake of dropping 

the ball nearer the hole, the player took relief correctly.  

C.  The Committee must decide which correction procedure the player may use.  

B.  14.5b(2) 

4. In stroke play, a player plays his shot from the teeing area at the third hole. The stroke barely nudges his ball, 

which falls off the tee. The ball comes to rest within the teeing area. The player tees the ball up again. The player 

makes his second stroke which sends the ball towards a wooded area. After a three-minute search his ball 

cannot be found. The player returns to the teeing area. What is the proper procedure? The player must play his 

next stroke from within the teeing area and:  

A. may tee a ball anywhere in the teeing area. The next stroke will be his third.  

B. may tee a ball anywhere in the teeing area. The next stroke will be his 4th.  

C. must drop a ball anywhere within the teeing area. The next stroke will be his 4th. 

B.  14.6a and 6.2b 

 



5. In which of the following has the player proceeded incorrectly when playing from where the previous stroke was 

made?  

A. In match play, the player plays out of turn from a bunker. The opponent cancels the stroke so the 

player recreates the lie and places the ball in the lie in the bunker.  

B. In returning to the teeing area under stroke and distance, the player tosses a ball down in the teeing 

area.  

C. After hitting a ball out of bounds from the general area, the player estimates where he had played 

from and drops a ball from knee height approximately 6 inches directly behind that point.  

A.  14.6  

6. In stroke play, a player has breached the Rules by playing from a wrong place.  Which is false?  

A.  If the player has not gained a significant advantage, he or she must play out the hole with the ball 

played from the wrong place without correction.  

B.  If the breach was serious and happened during play of other than the final hole, before making a 

stroke from the next teeing area, the player must play out the hole with a ball played from a right place.  

C.  If it is the final hole of the round, then before returning his or her scorecard, the player must 

announce that he or she will play out the hole with a ball played from a right place under the Rules.  

C.  14.7b(1) 

7. In stroke play, a player’s ball comes to rest in a no play zone within a penalty area.  The player enters the area 

and makes a stroke at the ball that moves only a few yards and remains in the no play zone within the penalty 

area.  The player makes several additional strokes at the ball before it successfully comes to rest outside the 

penalty area.  The player did not gain a significant advantage through his or her mistake.  What is the ruling?  

A. The player gets the general penalty (Rule 14.7) for playing from a wrong place for each stroke that he 

or she made from the no play zone in the penalty area.  

B. The player gets the general penalty (Rule 14.7) for playing from the wrong place for the first stroke he 

or she made in the no play zone.  There is no additional penalty for any of the following strokes made 

from a wrong place as all the strokes are related acts.  

C. The player is disqualified for a serious breach of playing from a wrong place unless the mistake is 

corrected by taking penalty relief from the penalty area.  

A.  14.7b/1 

8. In stroke play, unaware that his or her ball was in a small area of ground under repair, the player chips it onto 

the putting green.  Then, noticing the ground under repair marking, the player lifts the ball, drops it according to 

the ground under repair Rule and plays it.  What is the ruling?   

A. There is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies.   

B. The player gets the general penalty of two strokes and the ball must be played as it lies.   

C. There is a penalty of two strokes and the ball must be replaced where it originally lay on the putting 

green before he lifted it to take ground under repair relief.   

B.  14.7b(1) 

 


