
YOU MAKE THE CALL 

Rule 11 – Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits, Person, Animal or Object; Deliberate Actions to Affect Ball in Motion 

Relief Rule Definitions 

Rule 15 – Relief From Loose Impediments and Movable Obstructions  

(Including Ball or Ball-Marker Helping or Interfering With Play) 

 

1. A player makes a pitch shot up a hill toward the putting green and sees the ball returning back down the hill.  He or 

she uses a club that stops the moving ball.  The player gets the general penalty and must play the ball as it lies.  

True or False? 

2. A player’s ball lies in a bunker next to a discarded cardboard water carton that is covered with a detached branch of a 

bush.  The player removes the branch that causes the player’s ball to move.  The player replaces the ball.  The player 

then removes the water carton and the ball moves while the player is removing the carton.  The player replaces the 

ball and plays the ball from the bunker.  The player gets a total of two penalty strokes. 

True or False? 

3. Ground under repair may not be located on the putting green.  

True or False?  

4. In Four-Ball match play with side A-B, A’s ball lies 30-feet from the hole and B’s ball lies 3-feet from the hole on the 

putting green, with both A and B having taken two strokes.  The opponents have scored four for the hole.  A putts 

and, as the ball is rolling past the hole, B strikes the ball, returning it in the direction of where A is standing.  B holes 

his or her putt for a score of three.  Side A-B wins the hole.  

True or False? 

5. In a match, A requests B to lift B’s ball that lies on the putting green and is on A’s line of play.  A’s ball lies near but off 

the putting green.  B refuses to do so and A makes a stroke with B’s ball in place.  B gets the general penalty.  

True or False? 

6. A player sees his or her uphill chip shot returning to the spot from where he or she played it.  The player replaces the 

large divot taken by the shot into the divot hole and presses it down for the purpose of preventing the ball coming to 

rest in a bad lie.  The ball stops short of the replaced divot.  There is no penalty.  

True or False? 

7. If a player’s ball in motion from a stroke made from anywhere but the putting green accidentally hits any person or 

outside influence there is no penalty.  

True or False?  

8. Loose impediments are easily removable objects, such as scorecards, pens, coins and abandoned balls.  

True or False?  

9. In stroke play, A and B agree to leave A’s ball in place on the putting green near the hole to help the play of B, who 

then makes a stroke.  If they are aware that this agreement is not allowed by the Rules, both players get a 

disqualification penalty rather than the general penalty.  

True or False? 

10. The nearest point of complete relief may be in the middle of a tree trunk.  

True or False?  

11. A player makes a stroke and while the ball is in motion he or she makes a practice swing, taking a divot that 

accidentally deflects his or her ball in motion.  The player gets one penalty stroke. 

True or False? 

12. A player may mark and lift their ball if they consider that it interferes with another player’s stroke.  

True or False?  



13. In stroke play, a player’s ball, putted from a spot on the putting green, struck the edge of the hole-liner and bounced 

out of the hole.  The player did not count the stroke, replaced another ball on the original spot and holed the putt.  

The player played from the next teeing area.  There is no penalty.  

True or False? 

14. Two balls are lying about two feet (61 cm) apart in a general area. The player whose turn it is to play first may require 

that the other ball is marked and lifted, claiming that it is a distraction to their intended stroke.  

True or False? 

15. When dropping a ball at the nearest point of complete relief from interference by an immovable obstruction, it may 

never be played from a point that is nearer to the hole than where it originally came to rest.  

True or False?  

16. Seeing that a ball in motion after a putt from another player was going to strike the removed flagstick lying close to 

the hole, a player quickly picked it up to avoid the ball hitting it. Neither player gets a penalty.  

True or False?  

17. A stone that forms part of a wall, but is loosely affixed and therefore can be easily moved, is a movable obstruction.  

True or False?  

18. A ball comes to rest on a spectator’s chair in a general area. The player may lift the ball, move the chair and place a 

ball under where the ball was at rest on the chair, without penalty.  

True or False?  

19. A player may take relief from loose material that a fox has dug out of a hole that it is making, because it is an 

abnormal course condition.  

True or False?  

20. Loose soil may be removed anywhere on the course.  

True or False?  

21. A ball played from off the putting green was already in motion when another player bent down, marked their ball and 

lifted it. If their ball might have been hit by the ball in motion they would get the general penalty.  

True or False?  

22. If a ball comes to rest on a moving cart in a general area, the player must take free relief by dropping a ball within one 

club-length, not nearer the hole, of the reference point, which is right under where they estimate the ball first came 

to rest on the cart.  

True or False?  

23. When the player has estimated their nearest point of complete relief under the Rules they must mark that point with 

a ball-marker or small object before dropping a ball.  

True or False?  

24. A player may use their hand or their putter to brush away hailstones lying on the line they intend their ball to take 

when they make their stroke.  

True or False?  

25. A player may always move their ball-marker out of the way if they think that it might either assist or interfere with 

play.  

True or False?  

26. A player’s ball bounces off a path into a movable rubbish bin. Not wanting to search through the rubbish to find the 

ball the player moves the bin and drops a ball at the spot where they estimated the original ball had come to rest in 

the bin. As they were about to play their stroke a boy said that he had recovered the original ball from the bin. The 

player must continue with the dropped ball.  

True or False? 


