
YOU MAKE THE CALL 

Rule 6 Playing a Hole and Status of Ball Definitions 

1. A player who makes a stroke at their ball lying out of bounds is playing a wrong ball.  

True or False?  

2. Other than on the teeing area, if a player chooses to play a provisional ball they should do so right after making 

their previous stroke and before anyone else plays.  

True or False?  

3. A player may choose to ignore a match play opponent playing out of turn on several occasions and then require 

them to cancel their stroke when they do so again on the 18th hole.  

True or False?  

4. Any strokes made at a wrong ball do not count.  

True or False?  

5. If a player plays a substituted ball when the Rules do not allow it, the original ball is lost.  

True or False?  

6. A player cannot find their ball and is virtually certain that it had been played by mistake by someone else, as a 

player from another group was seen making a stroke from the exact area where the ball was thought to have 

come to rest. The player must retrieve their ball within the allowed 3 minutes search time or take the penalty for 

a lost ball.  

True or False?  

7. In stroke play, a player plays their ball from the wrong tee markers and then plays two more strokes before being 

advised of their breach. They must add two penalty strokes to their score, meaning that they are lying 5.  

True or False?  

8. If a player completely misses their teed ball with their first stroke they may tee another ball anywhere in the 

teeing area for their second stroke.  

True or False?  

9. In stroke play, a player who plays a wrong ball from close to where their original ball was thought to be, is 

penalised two strokes and may continue play of the hole with the wrong ball.  

True or False?  

10. If a player substitutes a ball when not allowed, that ball is a wrong ball.  

True or False?  

11. In stroke play on the 1st hole, a player plays from the wrong set of tee markers.  As their round has not started 

the stroke does not count and the player is not subject to penalty.  

True or False?  

12. A player may tee their ball on a tee of any length.  

True or False?  

13. In match play, after both players start a hole there is no penalty for a player who plays out of turn when it was 

their opponent’s turn to play.  

True or False?  

14. In most situations, a player may not substitute a ball when replacing their ball at a ball-marker.  

True or False? Answer:  

 

 


