
YOU MAKE THE CALL 

Rule 6 Playing a Hole and Status of Ball Definitions (ANSWERS) 

1. A player who makes a stroke at their ball lying out of bounds is playing a wrong ball.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Definition of Wrong Ball.  

Note: A wrong ball is any ball other than the player’s ball in play (whether the original ball or a substituted ball), their 

provisional ball (before it is abandoned under Rule 18.3c) or a second ball in stroke play played under Rules 14.7b or 

20.1c 

2. Other than on the teeing area, if a player chooses to play a provisional ball they should do so right after making their 

previous stroke and before anyone else plays.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 6.4d(2).  

Note: On the teeing area the other players in the group must make their first stroke on the hole before the player plays 

their provisional ball. 

3. A player may choose to ignore a match play opponent playing out of turn on several occasions and then require them 

to cancel their stroke when they do so again on the 18th hole.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 6.4a(2).  

Note: If the opponent plays out of turn the player may either require that the stroke is cancelled or choose to ignore the 

mistake on each occasion, provided they have not agreed that the opponent should play out of turn to save time. 

4. Any strokes made at a wrong ball do not count.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 6.3c(1).  

Note: But the player is penalised with the general penalty for making a stroke at a wrong ball. 

5. If a player plays a substituted ball when the Rules do not allow it, the original ball is lost.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 6.3b(2).  

Note: When a player substitutes another ball as their ball in play, the original ball is no longer in play and they must 

continue with the substituted ball.  

6. A player cannot find their ball and is virtually certain that it had been played by mistake by someone else, as a player 

from another group was seen making a stroke from the exact area where the ball was thought to have come to rest. 

The player must retrieve their ball within the allowed 3 minutes search time or take the penalty for a lost ball.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 6.3c(2).  

Note: As it was virtually certain that the ball was wrongly played by another player, the player, without penalty, may 

replace any ball on the original spot, which if not known must be estimated.  

7. In stroke play, a player plays their ball from the wrong tee markers and then plays two more strokes before being 

advised of their breach. They must add two penalty strokes to their score, meaning that they are lying 5.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 6.1b(2).  

Note: The player does get the general penalty of two penalty strokes, but must correct the mistake by returning to play a 

ball from inside the teeing area, which would be their third stroke. Strokes including penalty strokes made from the ball 

played outside the tee markers do not count.  



8. If a player completely misses their teed ball with their first stroke they may tee another ball anywhere in the teeing 

area for their second stroke.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 6.2b(6).  

Note: This only applies when a ball in play is still within the teeing area after a stroke has been made at it. 

9. In stroke play, a player who plays a wrong ball from close to where their original ball was thought to be, is penalised 

two strokes and may continue play of the hole with the wrong ball.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 6.3c(1).  

Note: The player must correct the mistake by playing the original ball from its original spot or by taking relief under the 

Rules (e.g. if the original ball cannot be found within the total search time of 3 minutes). 

10. If a player substitutes a ball when not allowed, that ball is a wrong ball.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Definition of In Play and Definition of Wrong Ball.  

Note: When another ball is substituted that becomes the ball in play, even if the substitution was not allowed by a Rule. 

11. In stroke play on the 1st hole, a player plays from the wrong set of tee markers.  As their round has not started the 

stroke does not count and the player is not subject to penalty.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 6.1a. Note:  

The player gets a penalty of two strokes and must correct their mistake by playing a ball from the correct teeing area, 

Rule 6.1b(2). 

12. A player may tee their ball on a tee of any length.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Definitions of Tee and Equipment Rules.  

Note: A tee must conform to the Equipment Rules and must be no longer than four inches (101.6 mm). 

13. In match play, after both players start a hole there is no penalty for a player who plays out of turn when it was their 

opponent’s turn to play.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 6.4a.  

Note: If the player plays when it was their opponent’s turn to play, there is no penalty but the opponent may choose to 

cancel the stroke made and require that it is played after they have made their own stroke. 

14. In most situations, a player may not substitute a ball when replacing their ball at a ball-marker.  

True or False? Answer:  

True. Rule 6.3b(1).  

Note: When replacing a ball on a spot, the player is not allowed to substitute a ball with certain Exceptions that are listed 

in Rule 14.2a, e.g. the original ball cannot be recovered with reasonable effort.  

 


