
YOU MAKE THE CALL 

Rule 5 Playing The Round (Meaning of Round, Practice, Unreasonable Delay, Stopping Play) 

1. In stroke play, a group of players may agree to immediately stop play if they reasonably believe there is danger from 

lightning.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 5.7a.  

Note: Even an individual player may choose to stop play if they reasonably believe there is danger from 

lightning. 

2. During a stroke play round, players must remain in the group set by the Committee.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 5.4b.  

Note: But the Committee may approve a change either before or after it happens, e.g. if a player has to leave 

the course during a round and there is no other marker available. 

3. In stroke play on the day of a competition, a player is allowed to roll a ball across a putting green on the course before 

starting their round.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 5.2.  

Note: On the day of a competition before a stroke play round, a player may not play a ball, or test the surface of 

the putting green of any hole by rolling a ball or rubbing the surface 

4. In stroke play, if a player starts play of a new hole after they have been made aware that the Committee has suspended 

play, they get a penalty of two strokes.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 5.7b.  

Note: The penalty for a breach of Rule 5.7b is disqualification. 

5. If players stop their match by agreement and it will not be resumed until two days later, the players may practice on the 

course without restriction before the match is resumed.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 5.5c.  

Note: In stroke play, while play is suspended or otherwise stopped by the Committee, a player must not make a 

practice stroke on the course except any areas allowed by the Committee, practising putting or chipping on or 

near the putting green of the hole just completed, any practice green and the teeing area of the next hole. 

6. During a match play round, the player and their opponent must play each hole in the same group.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 5.4a.  

Note: If this is not the case both sides are disqualified. 

7. In stroke play on the day of a competition, a player’s caddie is not allowed to make any strokes on the competition course 

prior to their player commencing their round.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 5.2.  

Note: The limitations on practicing on the course before or between rounds apply only to the player, not to the 

player’s caddie. 

8. In a stroke play competition played over two rounds on two different days, a player may practice on the course after they 

have finished their first round.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 5.2b.  

Note: A player may practise on the course after completing play of their final round for that day. 



9. A player is disqualified if they arrive at their starting point for a round 3 minutes after their starting time set by the 

Committee.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Exception 1 to Rule 5.3a.  

Note: If a player arrives at their starting point, ready to play, no more than 5 minutes late they get the general 

penalty, which is applied to their first hole. If they are over 5 minutes late they are disqualified. 

10. If a Committee declares an immediate suspension of play, all players must stop play at once and must not make another 

stroke until the Committee resumes play.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 5.7b(1).  

Note: A Committee must use a distinct method of advising players whether they are declaring an immediate 

suspension, e.g. for an electrical storm, or a normal suspension, e.g. for temporary water on some putting 

greens. 

11. A round does not include any period during which play has been suspended by the Committee.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 5.1.  

Note: When a Rule refers to actions taken during a round that does not include while the Committee has 

suspended play under Rule 5.7a, unless the Rule says otherwise. 

12. A player may make practice strokes between the play of two holes, but only on the putting green of the hole just played.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 5.5b.  

Note: The player may practise putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the hole just completed and 

the teeing area of the next hole. 

13. In an 18 holes competition players may choose to start from either the 1st or 10th teeing area, providing that by doing so 

they do not delay the play of others.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Definitions of Round and Game of Golf.  

Note: A round of 18 holes must be played in the order set by the Committee. 

14. In stroke play, if a player is not present at the location where they stopped play when play was suspended at the time set by 

the Committee for play to resume, they are disqualified.  

True or False?  

Answer: True. Rule 5.7c.  

Note: There is no breach of this Rule if the Committee decides that circumstances justified the player’s failure to 

arrive at the location where they stopped play by the time they were required to do so. 

15. If a player marked their ball when play was suspended by the Committee they must replace the same ball at the same place 

when play resumes.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 5.7d.  

Note: Either the original ball or another ball must be replaced at the marked spot.   

16. Seeing that there is a hold-up on the next putting green a player makes several practice strokes from a bunker on the hole 

they have just completed. There is no penalty.  

True or False?  

Answer: False. Rule 5.5b.  

Note: The player gets a general penalty for breaching a single Rule with related acts. The player may only 

practise putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the hole just completed and the teeing area of the 

next hole. 


