YOU MAKE THE CALL
Rule 8 Course Played As It Is Found

Apart from being allowed to remove loose impediments or movable obstructions a player may not do anything
to improve the relief area where they intend to drop or place a ball.

True or False?

A player sees that deep footsteps in a bunker between their ball and the putting green had not been raked by a
previous group. Concerned that they may not clear the bunker with their next stroke they picked up a rake and
smoothed the trampled area, claiming that they were caring for the course. They are penalised one stroke.

True or False?

A player may move a divot to see whether it is loose or still partially attached.

True or False?

Loose impediments and movable obstructions are not part of the lie of a ball.

True or False?

A player may move loose impediments (e.g. grass cuttings and twigs) to cover a muddy area where they intend
to take their stance, so as to avoid slipping during their swing.

True or False?

Seeing a branch of a tree overhanging their intended line of play a player hooked the intervening branch around
another branch, to hold it out of their way. When advised that this was not allowed by the Rules, the player
restored the branch to its original position, but the general penalty still applies.

True or False?

In stroke play, a player gets a penalty of two strokes if they improve the conditions affecting the stroke of
another player.

True or False?

In taking a stance for the stroke, which action is the player allowed to execute?

a. when the player’s ball lies in a bunker, knocking down sand on the side of the bunker with a foot to create a
level area to stand on.

b. excessively digging feet into soft ground to gain a firmer foundation for the stance.
removing loose impediments from the area of intended stance, such as removing large amounts of pine
needles or leaves.



10.

11.

A player tees the ball near and behind the left tee-marker but within the teeing area. Then he or she breaks a

branch of a small tree not growing in the teeing area that would interfere with his or her intended right-handed

stroke at the teed ball. Deciding to make a different stroke at the ball, he or she lifts the ball and tees it near

and behind the right tee-marker from where the stroke is made. What is the ruling?

a. The player is allowed to break a branch of a tree or otherwise improve the conditions affecting the stroke
when playing a ball from within the teeing area.

b. There is no penalty as the player corrected his or her mistake by re-teeing the ball in a different location and
played from there.

c. The player gets the general penalty that cannot be avoided by re-teeing the ball in a different location and
playing from there.

A player plays a ball from the general area, replaces his or her divot and later learns that he or she must play
again from there under penalty of stroke and distance. In addition to the penalty of stroke and distance, what
penalty does the player get?

a. The player gets no additional penalty.

b. The player gets the general penalty.

c. The player is disqualified.

A player’s tee shot comes to rest in an area of ground under repair in the general area, just short of a bunker
that is on his or her line of play. The player takes relief behind the bunker from the abnormal course condition
and the dropped ball rolls forward out of the relief area into the bunker. While walking into the bunker to
retrieve the ball to drop it again, the player creates numerous footprints on his or her line of play when the ball
will be dropped again in the relief area. He or she rakes the bunker to restore the bunker to its previous
condition. This restoration improves conditions affecting the stroke from the relief area. What is the ruling?

a. There is no penalty as restoring the bunker is allowed as the player was caring for the course.

b. Inrestoring the bunker to its condition prior to his or her walking in the bunker, the player improved
conditions affecting the stroke. Because the player was responsible for worsening the conditions, the player
is not allowed to restore the bunker and gets the general penalty.

c¢. Normally, a player is not allowed to restore altered conditions affecting the stroke when it was the player
who altered the conditions. However, in this situation the player was required to retrieve the ball and is
allowed to restore the conditions without penalty.



