
YOU MAKE THE CALL 
1. In match play, the player and opponent may agree how to decide a Rules issue so long as they do not 

deliberately agree to apply the Rules in the wrong way.  

True or False?  

Rule References  

 

2. When a player has breached a Rule and that Rule allows them to play a ball from a different place than where 

their original ball lies (e.g. deciding to treat their ball as unplayable) the penalty is one stroke.  

True or False?  

Rule Reference   

 

3. A principle of the Rules of Golf is that when a single act by a player results in two Rules being beached, only a 

single penalty applies.  

True or False?  

Rule Reference 

 

4. In stroke play, a Committee can disqualify a player for serious misconduct, even if the competition has closed 

and the result announced.  

True or False?  

Rule Reference   

 

5. A principle of the Rules of Golf is that if unrelated acts result in one Rule being breached more than once, 

multiple penalties apply.  

True or False?  

Rule Reference 

 

6. If a player knows that they have breached a Rule that involves a penalty and deliberately fails to apply the 

penalty on the scorecard they return, they are disqualified.  

True or False?  

Rule Reference 

 

7. In stroke play, without marking their ball lying in a general area, a player lifts it to make a positive identification, 

cleans it and then instead of replacing it, drops it close to where it lay. The penalty is limited to two strokes.  

True or False?  

Rule Reference 

 

8. The penalty of disqualification only applies when a player has wrongly gained a potential advantage that is too 

significant for their score to be considered valid.  

True or False?  

Rule Reference  

Note: Whilst a player is disqualified in the circumstance of this question they may also be disqualified for 

breaches involving serious misconduct (see Rule 1.2). 



9. In stroke play, players may not decide any doubtful issue they have on the Rules by agreement, but must play on 

and raise the issue with a referee or the Committee when they become available and in any case before 

returning their scorecard.  

True or False?  

Rule Reference  

 

10. In stroke play, a player authorizes his or her caddie to drop a ball (A Violation of Rule 14.3b) in a wrong place. 

The player makes a stroke at the ball (A Violation of Rule 14.7a). What is the ruling? 

a) The player gets a penalty of one stroke. 

b) The player gets the general penalty 

c) The player gets a total penalty of three strokes. 

Rule Reference 

 

11. In stroke play, a player makes a stroke at an incorrectly substituted ball from the wrong place. What is the 

ruling? 

a) There is no penalty. 

b) The player gets the general penalty. 

c) The player gets a penalty of four strokes. 

Rule Reference  

 

 

 


