Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

SUU’s Vincent Named To Big Sky First Team, Hameed Named Honorable Mention



BOULDER CITY, Nev. — The Big Sky Conference announced their 2019 Men’s Golf All-Conference teams on Thursday, with Southern Utah’s Jake Vincent being named to the First Team and Ali Hameed named as an Honorable Mention.

Neither player has finished a season of their career without earning Big Sky honors.

This is Vincent’s second First Team honor, as he earned the same recognition following the 2017-18 campaign. As a freshman he was on the league’s Third Team, meaning he’s been an All-Conference member every season of his career.

Vincent was named Men’s Golfer of the Week twice during the season by the Big Sky Conference. He also earned his first career victory at the Pizza Hut-Pat Hicks Thunderbird Invitational.

For Hameed, this is his third-straight season earning Honorable Mention status from the Big Sky as he did so as a freshman and a sophomore.

“Both Jake and Ali have been critical pieces from us since they were freshmen and have obviously been big part of what we’ve done this season,” SUU head coach Richard Church said. “We’re excited to see what they do this weekend with a chance to move on.”

The Thunderbirds will tee off at the 2019 Big Sky Conference Championships on Friday morning for the first of three rounds.

Live stats for the event will be available on

Stay current on all things SUU Golf by following @SUUGolf on Twitter and Instagram, and by liking the Southern Utah Golf page on Facebook.

Read all about the Thunderbirds on

2019 Big Sky Men’s Golf All-Conference Teams

First Team

Joshua Matz, Northern Colorado

Coby Welch, Northern Colorado

Enrique Marin, Idaho

Jake Vincent, Southern Utah

Li Chen, Northern Colorado

Second Team

Jayce Frampton, Weber State

Colt Sherrell, Idaho

Justin Lane, Binghamton

Ryan Rodriguez, Binghamton

Jeff Carr, Sacramento State

Honorable Mention

Eric Evans, Hartford

Jack Castiglia, Northern Colorado

Ali Hameed, Southern Utah

Landon Azevedo, Sacramento State

Ethan Davidson, Sacramento State