Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

2015 Season Recap

By Kevin Johnson


With the 2016 UGA championship season just around the corner, let’s take a look at what happened last year. Our season kicked off with Winterchamps, a 36-hole Modified Stableford scoring format played at Bloomington Country Club, Sunbrook GC, and Sun River GC open to all UGA members and junior players with a 9.9 index or less. Men’s Champion Darrin Overson scored 92 points, Women’s Champion Sadie Palmer with 90 points, and Brett Sampson and Pat Murphy shared the Senior Division title with 88 points each.


The Women’s Spring Open, a two-day team Modified Stableford event held at Sky Mountain GC and Bloomington CC, was won by Kelsey Chugg and Marie Bambo. Their two-day total was a notable 149 points.


The Utah Senior Match Play Championship, an 18-hole stroke play qualifier and match play event held at Davis Park GC, was won by the consistently impressive Craig Wilson. Wilson defeated Brett Sampson on the 19th playoff hole.


 The Women’s Four-Ball Championship, a two-day, two-person team event open to all female UGA members and hosted by Glendale GC and Rose Park GC, was won by BYU teammates Kendra Dalton and Lea Garner. Dalton and Garner finished with a pair of 65’s to finish at 16 under.


Ryan Brimley held off 117th Utah State Amateur Champion Jordan Rodgers to win the Utah Mid-Amateur Championship, a 54-hole stroke play event held at Valley View GC, at eight under par.


The Mary Lou Baker Open is a 36-hole stroke play event open to all female UGA members. Kelsey Chugg, a familiar name in the Utah golf community, successfully defended her crown at Davis Park GC to become the two-time consecutive champion with a final score of seven-under-par 135.


The 117th Utah State Amateur Championship, held at Soldier Hollow GC, included a 36-hole qualifier with the low 64 players competing in match play. The 36-hole final match between BYU golf alum Jordan Rodgers and 1998 Utah State Amateur Champion Darrin Overson was back and forth all day. With back-to-back birdies on the 34th and 35th holes, Rodgers captured the title with a 3 and 1 victory over Overson.


Sirene Blaire held off Kelsey Chugg to win the Women’s Stroke Play Championship by one stroke. The 36-hole stroke play event was held at Fox Hollow GC and was open to all female UGA members.


The Sonny Braun Utah Senior Open, held at Toana Vista GC, is a 36-hole stroke play event open to all UGA members 50 and older. Stephen Schneiter shot an impressive 10-under-par 134 to become the 2-time consecutive champion, while Jeff Powars shot 72’s to become the low senior amateur at even par 144.


The 109th Utah Women’s State Amateur at Hidden Valley CC included a 36-hole qualifier to the low 15 players with the previous champion in number one seed. Kelsey Chugg defeated Brooklyn Hocker 5 and 4 to win three of the last four State Amateur Championships.


The Tournament of Champions, now rebranded as the UGA Invitational, is an 18-hole stroke play competition open to club champions in the champions division, individual amateur tournament champions, UGA champions, USGA qualifier medalists, national tournament champions, and Player Performance Ranking (PPR) who meet the following qualifications:

Top 25 on the PPR list after the Utah State Amateur
Top 20 on the SPPR list after the Utah State Amateur
Top 10 on the WPPR List after the Women’s Stoke Play Championship
Top 5 on the SWPPR list after the Women’s Stroke Play Championship

Rhett Rasmussen won the Men’s Flight with a 36-hole score of 6 under par, Mike Jorgensen carded a 3 under par to win the Senior Flight, and Sadie Palmer won the Women’s Flight at even par 72.

The 2015 Women’s Senior Amateur Championship, a 36-hole stroke play event open to all female UGA members 50 and older, was held at Mountain Dell GC.  Annette Gaiotti won by seven strokes with a three-over-par 146.


The Utah Senior Amateur Championship is a 54-hole stroke play competition open to UGA members 50 years and older. The 2015 season event was held at East Bay GC where Craig Wilson shot 17 under par to win by one stroke over Brett Sampson.


The Utah Four-Ball Championship was the last UGA championship of the year at Victory Ranch GC.  Kurt Owen and Kirk Nielson won the Championship Flight at 9 under par, and Russell Hook and Rob Bachman shot 13 under to win the Senior Flight.


That’s our 2015 season! Congratulations to all our winners.  The 2016 seasons starts with Winterchamps on March 19-20, 2016 at The Ledges, SunRiver, and Sky Mountain. For additional information or to register for a UGA championship event, visit or call the UGA office at 801-563-0400 Monday-Friday 8:30a.m.-4:00 p.m.