Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

Six Former State Am Champs Recognized; Taylor, Ruff Win Media Day Titles

The media day for the 116th Utah State Amateur was held Wednesday at Soldier Hollow Golf Course, the site of the six day event that begins Monday July 6th and concludes Saturday, July 11th.

Defending champion Jon Wright was at the media day along with champions who won each of the ten previous decades, including:

Michael McRae, who won it ten years ago at Wolf Creek; Jason Wight who won it in 1995 at Logan Golf and Country Club; Steve Borget who won it in 1985 at Riverside Country Club; Don Branca who won it in 1975 at The Country Club, and Jon Mauss who won it half a century ago in 1965 at The Country Club.

Representatives of the major media outlets in Utah were on hand for the occasion which traditionally has also served as a Utah Media Day Tournament. Brian Taylor, of Real Golf Radio, won the low gross championship, and Wesley Ruff, of Channel Four television, won the Net Division. It was the third time that Taylor has won the gross trophy.

The tournament always begins the first week after the Fourth of July, which this year is Monday, July 6th.

The greens are in marvelous shape and are lightning fast and make Chambers Bay jealous.