Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

UGA Annual Meeting Set at Alpine Country Club; Terry, Randall To Receive Gold Club

There will be some changes at the UGA Annual Meeting this year that will show when you walk in the door at Alpine Country Club. In recent years the UGA Annual Meeting has been held at Hidden Valley Country Club, but the UGA Board decided it would be good for UGA members and Member Clubs to hold the meeting at different venues from year to year with Alpine being the host this year. The meeting will be held Wednesday, October 30th at 6 p.m. The highlight of the meeting in years past has been the presentation of the UGA Gold Club Award and this year, for the first time, the award will honor two individuals instead of one. Recipients of the award will be Dave Terry, long time golf administrator, and Pete Randall, a golf icon in Cache Valley. Randall passed away recently and will be given the honor posthumously. (Separate future articles prior to the meeting will detail the achievements of these two Utah golf leaders.) Another highlight of the UGA Annual Meeting has been the election of new board members, but that has also changed this year. The new board members, Joel Welber of Entrada Country Club, and Brian Hulse of Oakridge Country Club will be introduced to the membership, but they have already been elected and the traditional vote by acclimation will not be necessary. The new board members were elected by the UGA Board of Directors at a board meeting in September. They replace outgoing board members John Taylor of East Bay and Jim Kane of Coral Canyon. (Articles featuring the new board members will be published on the UGA web site prior to the meeting). This change in the election process was approved at a UGA Special Meeting of Member Clubs at Forest Dale Golf Course on March 23rd. Incoming UGA President Jim Harland said, “the new bylaws were structured to reflect the operational procedures the UGA has been following for years and to improve and clarify the election process. All Member Clubs were notified of the Special Meeting and the changes were unanimously approved. This new process led to the nominations of Welber and Hulse by their respective Member Clubs and they were elected by the UGA board as prescribed.” The other major portion of the meeting is the annual presentation of awards which is highlighted by the Player of the Year Awards. They will be presented in four categories, Men’s, Women’s, Men’s Senior, and Women’s Senior. Champions of all UGA events will also be recognized. All UGA members and other interested guests are welcome and encouraged to attend. Reservations must be made in advance at the UGA office, 801-563-0400. Tickets are $28. Please RSVP no later than Monday, October 21st by calling the UGA at (801) 563-0400.  Please note that we have limited seating for this even and the UGA will not be able to make additions or changes to your RSVP after October 21st.