Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

Parkinson Beats Barker in Battle of Alpine CC State Am Champions in Round of 32

The Utah State Am is in the process of carving a champion, and the whittling process continues.
In the Round of 32 the feature match pitted two former champions, young Joe Parkinson against ancient Todd Barker and young won, 3 and 2. Barker, the oldest player in the tournament at 59, won at Alpine Country Club back in 1997 and Parkinson also won at Alpine Country Club, but only three years ago.
Jon Wright, the defending champion, took another step closer to repeating. He defeated Preston Richards, 3 and 2.
Dan Horner, champion in 2008 at Soldier Hollow, advanced in his quest for a second title by beating Ryan Brimley, 4 and 3; and Jeff Evans, the 2010 champion at Soldier Hollow, defeated Clark Jones, 2 and 1.
Former runnerups Kirk Siddens, Christian Jensen, and Stratton Schulz were shown the door and told to try again next year. Siddens was ousted by Tanner Higham, 5 and 4; Jensen was bumped by Jacob Holt, 4 and 3; and Schulz lost to Kelton Kirsch in 20 holes. Siddens lost the title match in 1999 to Billy Harvey, Jensen lost in the finals last year at The Country Club to Jon Wright, and Schulz lost to Jeff Evans two years ago at Soldier Hollow. Siddens is aging and his window for winning the title is shrinking, but Jensen and Schulz have many years yet to taste the title.
Cole Ogden, the medalist, bumped Jonathon Oettli, 2 and 1, and in a battle of seniors Jeff Powars ousted Brett Sampson, 4 and 3. Connor Jones posted the biggest victory margin of the Thursday morning round, a 6 and 5 win over JTY Timmons.
Round of 32 ResultsJon Wright def. Preston Richards, 3 and 2Nathan Nyman def. Mike Jorgensen, 5 and 4Jordan Hammer def. Sammy Cole, 3 and 2Dan Horner def. Ryan Brimley, 4 and 3Joe Parkinson def. Todd Barker, 3 and 2John Owen def. Jordan Rodgers, 19 holesJoey Olson def. Eric Rustand, 19 holesJeff Evans def. Clark Jones, 2 and 1Cole Ogden def. Jonathon Oettli, 2 and 1Kai Ruiz def. Jacob Wagstaff, 3 and 2Tanner Higham def. Kirk Siddens, 5 and 4Jeff Powars def. Brett Sampson, 4 and 3Jacob Holt def. Christian Jensen, 4 and 3Kelton Hirsch def. Stratton Schulz, 20 holesConnor Jones def. JT Timmons, 6 and 5Charlie Duensing def. Seokown Jeon, 4 and 2