Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

Nick Smart Medalist in First State Am Qualifying at Rose Park

Nick Smart shot five under par 67 to win medalist honors at Rose Park Wednesdeay in the first of ten qualifying rounds for the Utah State Amateur. Casey Halliday shot 68 and Austin Zetting, Bob Mitchell, and Greg Snyder carded 69s.
There were 81 players in the field with 29 spots available and the cut fell at 75. The six players who shot 75 had a playoff for the final two State Am spots. Those spots were won by Lonnie Strasburg and Mark Eric Beese. First alternate is Jay Sheridan and Colby Robertson is second alternate. Eliminated in the playoff were Troy Jones and Jamie Childs.
The next qualifying will be Thursday and will also be held at Rose Park.
Utah State AmateurRose Park Qualifying #1June 567- Nick Smart68- Casey Halliday69- Austin Zetting, Bob Mitchell, Greg Snyder70- Seokown Jeon, Robert Woods, Tommy Higham71- Chace Bickmore, Nathan Archibald, Aaron Hutchings, Troy Parsons, Jeremy Tomsick, Tyler Hand72- Rigo Jimenez, Thomas Young, Keith Olson73- Brady Garn, Anthony Provenza, Garrett McBride74- Mike Behle, Cole Crowther, Derek Edvalson, Casey Dittman, Jonathan Zawislak, Cory Alder, Robert Tomsick75- Lonnie Strasburg, Mark Eric Beese (Won playoff)
Did Not Qualify
75- Jay Sheridan (First alternate), Colby Robertson (Second alternate),Troy Jones, Jamie Childs76- Austin Sorensen, Jason Boudreaux, Stephen Seare, Nick Griego, Rajeev Balasubramonian, Patrick Waldram, Jacob Hamilton, Curtis Sampson77- Nicklaus Britt, Cole Dixon, Chad McDaniel, Rick Peery78- Christopher Oman, Kingsley Sullivan79- Nathan Cannon, Heath Henninger, Alex Smith, Rodney Hand80- Jeff Bean, Brandon Denker, David Perkins, Glen W. Spencer, Austin VanOrden81- G.W. Rodrick82- Alex Debry, Steve Park, Sterling Jack, Brady Grimm, Bill Perkins83- Ryan McDermott, Riley Lowry, Michael Alleman, John Savas84- Blake Vanderstek, John Bolinder, Aaron Hedin, Wesley Roosendaal, Troy Hardy85- Brian Moore, Cody Wagner, William Bryan Burk86- Landon Hedin, Jon Cronk87- Tim Pearson, Wesley Asi89- Elijah Royal Christensen, Jade Envoldsen, Andrew Phillips