Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

14-Year-Old Rhett Rasmussen Wins Medalist Honors at State Am Qualifying at Eaglewood

Rhett Rasmussen, the smallest and youngest player in the field,  is getting old at earning the highest spot on the scoreboard. He shot a three under par 68 to earn medalist honors at the Utah State Amateur Qualifying at Eaglewood Golf Course Saturday and thus will make his second straight appearance in the Utah State Amateur.
Last year, at the age of 13 years old and about 5’1″ he qualified for the Utah State Am and played well enough to earn a spot in the playoff for the final match play spots.  This year he has had a growth spurt and now stands about 5’6″ and his game has grown stronger as well. He plays in the Utah Junior Golf Association events in the 15-18 age group and was the low qualifier for Junior World earlier this year.
Craig Wilson shot a 69 for second place in the Eaglewood qualifying. The cut broke even at 74. There was a playoff for the two alternate positions and Steve Park won the top alternate spot over Boston Watts that took five holes to decide.
The next qualifying for the Utah State Am will be Wednesday at Spanish Fork.
Utah State Amateur
Eaglewood Qualifying
68- Rhett Rasmussen
69- Craig Wilson
70- Spencer Moser
72- Josh Summerhays, Mana Angilau, Gary Stewart, Troy Stewart
73- Christopher Grant, Karl Avant, Kelton Hirsch
74- Austin Geddings, Jeremy Liddiard, Devin Tovey
Did not qualify:
75- Steve Park (1st alternate), Boston Watts (2nd alternate), David Madsen, David Stohl, Tony Poole, Guy Child, Jeremy Richmond
76- Aaron Stobbe, Chick Lignell, Austin Green, Brandon Davider
77- Raul Delatorre, Tim Hardy, Clint Godfrey, Brad Bills, Ryan Kelly
78- Nathan Burt, Ryan Spencer, Bridger Layton, Robert Fairburn, Ken Sowby
79- David Fox, Jay Patrick O’Fee, Jason Smith, Brian Young, Josh Mauss, Michael Dewey
80- Kolby Kemp, Bradie Brimley, Billy Comeaux, Devin Mortensen, Anthony Alleman, Kingsley Sullivan
81- Justin Cutler, John Shumway, Evan Jones, Jordan Labrum
82- Nalin Maxfield, Taylor Laybourne, Derek Peterson
83- Bryan Metzler, Casey Murray, Rick Giolas, Robert Underwood, Michael Bailey
85- Scott Miller, Neil John Hopkins, Matthew Stohl, Jonathan Hardy, Robert Crawford
86- Christopher Smith, Scott Budge
87- Fred Vath
88- Chase Chandler, Tim Pearson, Ryan McDermott
89- Cameron Hale
90- Sean Romanik
91- Parker Davidson, John Gordon’
92- Jordan Short, Eric Swenson
93- Mike Henderson
99- Lewis Rollins
NC- Tyson Lund
NS- Brandon Long
WD- Marvin Acey, Patrick Riml, Matt Howard