Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

UGA Annual Meeting Is Wednesday at Hidden Valley CC

The UGA Annual Meeting will be held Wednesday, October 24, at Hidden Valley Country Club and will feature an election of new board members, the presentation of the annual Gold Club Award, and the UGA Players of the Year. Individual and team champions at UGA events this year will also be recognized. The meeting will be under the direction of UGA President Bill Probst.
Kent McCurdy, long time professional at Dinaland Golf Course in Vernal, will receive the UGA Gold Club Award in recognition of his contributions to the game of golf in the rural areas of the state, and particularly for his devotion to junior golf programs. Friends of Kent from the throughout the state are encouraged to attend the award presentation.
Two past presidents, Allen Simkins and Reed McGregor, have each completed their nine years of service on the board and Kurt Bernhisel and Denise Vilven have been nominated to fill those vacancies.  Both have been very active in Utah golf in various capacities. Bernhisel is a well known amateur player and is a member of Bonneville Golf Club and former member of Willow Creek Country Club. He is a physician. Vilven is also well known in Utah golf circles and operates Golf in the Round with her husband Doug Vilven. Over the years she has also been active in the Utah State Women’s Golf Association.
In no big surprise Zac Blair has been named UGA Player of the Year for the third straight year. It is the first time any player has won three Player of the Year honors. Steve Poulson will be recognized as the UGA Senior Player of the Year for the second time.
All golf clubs are encouraged to have voting representatives at the meeting. The meeting begins with dinner at 6:30 followed by the business affairs and the awards presentations. The meeting is open to all UGA members and the general public, but RSVPs are required and can be made at the UGA office, 563-0400 prior to 4 p.m. Monday.