Check out what has been happening in Utah Golf.

UGA 2-Man Championship This Weekend at Sand Hollow

The Eighth Annual UGA 2-Man Championship will be held this weekend at Sand Hollow Golf Course. The fun format has attracted a good field and tees off the 2011 UGA Championship schedule.
The record breaking duo of Jeff Jolley and Tyson Lund are not entered this year, but Jolley will be playing in the tournament with Kirk Siddens as his partner.
Jolley and Lund set a tournament record back in 2009 with remarkable rounds of 59-67-126 and then bested it the next year with rounds of 62-63-125. That record is expected to stand for quite some time.
Defending champions Dick Peacock and Richard Cropper will be back in the Men’s Senior Division will be challenged by former champions Steve Brinton and Kurt Bernhisel.
The Women’s Division will have a new look as perennial champions Jodi White and Joyce Billings have not entered. They have won that division every year they have entered. It leaves a wide open competition for the championship.
The format is perfect for this time of year. It is a 2-man scramble the first day, which allows for one of the partners to scuff a shot on each shot all the way around the course, and the second day it is a 4-ball, which allows one or the other partner to take a rest on any hole. This time of year it is great to have that cushion. The eventual winners will be those partners that don’t rest on the same holes. Ah, the pressure.
Past 2-Man Team Champions
Men’s Division
2004- Richard Church-Afa Vasi, 132
2005- Richard Church-Afa Vasi; Dustin Pimm-Nick Micek, 131
2006- Richard Church-Afa Vasi; Dustin Pimm-Nick Micek, 129
2007- Tyson Lund-Matt Brereton, 133
2008- Chance Cota-Dustin Pimm, 60- second round cancelled
2009- Tyson Lund-Jeff Jolley, 59-67-126
2010- Tyson Lund-Jeff Jolley, 62-63-125
Senior Division
2004- Brent Tidwell-Brent Marriott, 141
2005- Steve Brinton-Kurt Bernhisel, 127
2006- Dick Peacock-Richard Cropper, 136
2007- Richard Cropper-Dave Cropper; Lorin Sheffield-Fred Pehrson, 142
2008- Tom Jones-Brent Marriott, 61
2009- Steve Poulson-Todd Barker, 64-67-131
2010- Richard Cropper-Dick Peacock, 67-67-134
Women’s Division
2006- Jodi White-Joyce Billings, 141
2007- Jodi White-Joyce Billings, 143
2008- Kathy Riggs-Tori Rhodes
2009- Jodi White-Joyce Billings, 69-77-146
2010- Jodi White-Joyce Billings, 70-74-144